Ah, thank goodness – ice.

I’ve found a few freezers where I can get ice, phew. I’ve got a bottle of water freezing at a local shop and the people from a cafe I go to have been giving me ice cubes. I’ve iced my thigh and it feels soooo nice. Still painful, but not as hot and swollen. Goodness knows what’s going on, I will have to go with it and trust things will be ok.

I decided to go to yoga tonight but will take it very very easy. I was going to skip class but I think I’ll feel bad if I do. I had a bit of a cry today as I’m feeling a bit worn down and frustrated by my hip. I’ve been holding back the tears all week and it feels good to let some out. I am definitely battling with myself too much, perhaps I need to start my chronic pain meditations again.

On a brighter note, did some good shopping today and have started reading the alchemist – I’m feeling a few days of R&R at the pool are in order. 🙂

20140105-195958.jpg

Confusing matters by seeing an Ayurvedic doctor

Agh… I told myself I wouldn’t confuse matters by going to see an Ayurvedic doctor yet somehow I ended up seeing one. Yesterday my thigh had the swollen lump and my hip was really sore. I don’t have access to ice so I went back to the Ayurvedic pharmacy to try and get the natural anti-inflammatories I saw that have Boswella in them. Boswella is a herb I’ve tried before that I think had an effect (it’s hard to tell sometimes). I tried to explain to the guy behind the counter what I wanted and he told me to see the doctor for a consultation. A hundred rupees later ($2nzd) she had written a script for various natural concoctions. Including, a bone density grower, arthritis care tablets, some sort of bitter syrup to help with side effects of my other meds and some oil for pain relief. I spent $15nzd all up and didn’t get the Boswella.

Agh! I said I wouldn’t do this. I’m really regretting not being able to pick up the stuff my naturopath had recommended (cost was a big factor). I really trust her judgement and know she has a good understanding of the big picture. I do believe in natural remedies, but I like to know what I’m taking and have confidence in the quality of what I’m taking. The problem in New Zealand is that it’s so costly.

While a big part of me wants to take these Ayurvedic meds, my hesitation is that I want to stick to my ‘one new treatment rule’ so I can tell what effect the yoga is having. I really don’t know what any of these herbs are, I don’t know how ‘clean’ they are, the doctor wasn’t recommended to me, I won’t be able to get more from NZ and taking them for a short time seems pointless. I already take a lot of pills and I seem to be allergic to A LOT of things. I think it’s too risky and I don’t want to mess with a treatment plan that has me in a stable condition. As you can see I’ve talked myself out of taking the various concoctions, I might use the oil though.

I wish I knew what the swelling in my leg is, I’ve had this swollen lump it after massages in the past but never from exercises or walking. Today’s mission is to rest more (less walking, might skip yoga) and try to find some ice packs. While I don’t have a freezer, hopefully the cafe I go to regularly does. The swelling thigh pain is unpleasant but not unbearable, fingers crossed it will settle soon.

20140105-195749.jpg

20140105-195759.jpg

20140105-195810.jpg