Checking in

There is a thing that I do whenever I spent time on my yoga mat, and that is checking in with myself. How am I today? How is my body feeling? This is a thing many yogi’s do.

I’ve just realised there is a 2nd habitual check in that I do regularly. Every time I’m in the shower for the last several years I have always checked in with myself. How is my body feeling? How are my energy levels? I remember the old days before surgery and I could tell how painful my day would be by the number of pain free minutes in the morning. A shower is always one of the first things I do in the mornings and I used to almost always feel pain during my shower. If I ever had a whole shower without pain I knew it would be a really good day.

Tonight I was going to go to a fairly athletic yoga class, I’ve got my period and its not a nice one. Very heavy and quite painful. I had a shower before going to the yoga class and I automatically ‘checked in’ and decided that I really don’t have the energy for yoga class tonight. Instead I’ll have a shower, put my PJ’s on, finish tidying the house, watch some Netflix and do some restorative yoga before bed.

Its funny the little routines we develop. I’ve been pain free (ish) for well over 6 months now and yet I still check in with myself in the shower!

Published by

julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

